Critical Hits

When a critical threat is rolled (and that attack roll is high enough to hit the target) the normal damage (not including critical multipliers) is maximized, whether or not the crit is confirmed. The attacker then rolls to confirm the crit as normal. If the crit is confirmed, then the character may apply their multiplier to the damage, or draw a critical hit card from the pathfinder critical hit deck, as per the normal rules. For example, if a character with 16 STR using a longsword rolls a 19 on the dice and hits his target, he deals 11 dmg (8 for the sword + 3 for STR). If he confirms the hit, he can instead deal 22 dmg (max dmg of 11 x2 crit multiplier), or draw a critical hit card and take those results. If the same character was using a battle axe, and got a 20 on the dice, and then confirmed, he could deal 33 dmg (8 for the axe +3 for STR x3 multiplier), or 22 dmg and draw 1 crit card (max 11 x2 multiplier after reducing it by 1 to draw a card) , or deal 11 dmg and draw 2 crit cards (max 11 x1 multiplier after reducing by 2 to draw 2 cards), and choose which crit card to use.

Back to House Rules

Back to Main Page

Critical Hits

World of Rhilamar JamesVHejsek JamesVHejsek